To the Newly Sober

Good morning everyone.
I’ve been reading a lot of blogs recently written by people who’re fresh to sobriety. I can see the familiar confusion tinged with fear in between the lines. The bursts of anger, self hatred, regret.
It’s then that I realise that it’s still very fresh in my own mind too.
And not too long ago, I was just as confused and fearful as these other brave folks. I remember seeing the world as this whole, new entity; it was monstrous, filled with people coping much, much better than I was.
And then I got into meetings, met others who had gone through the same as me. Suddenly, there was some perspective. And perspective, or a sense of proportion, is like gold to a recovering addict. The ability to look objectively upon your own condition, I feel, is key to taking steps towards managing it effectively.
It’s not like my life is all roses, though. I like to be very clear that sobriety is a key component to a fulfilling life but that there are still struggles I go through every day. But I keep them there, in the day, and try not to give them the power to burst through the wall into the future and catastrophe.
I’m not going to ramble on. I just wanted to congratulate everyone who is new to sobriety and wish them all the best, one day at a time.

Leave a comment